Have you checked on your elderly and disabled neighbors during inclement weather?

February 7, 2010 at 11:18 am 1 comment

For the last two days the news has been buzzing about our area getting record-breaking snow.  25″ later, I found myself, and all my neighbors, digging out all day yesterday.  Not only was this exhausting for me,  there was so much snow it was very difficult for my husband (who has a spinal cord injury) to pitch in and help.  My goal: to get as much done and at least make a path wide enough to allow Bill to get through with his power wheelchair.  I finished the entire walkway and 75% of our driveway, plus a path out to the street for the power wheelchair and called it a night! 

When I came out to finish shoveling this morning, to my surprise my driveway was clear!  I can’t thank my neighbors enough for helping us out in this big snow.  Being that we were already dressed and ready to shovel, we decided to pay it forward and helped dig out our neighbors’ mailboxes until we were too tired to do anymore. 

We are always hearing on the news that we need to check on our elderly and disabled neighbors when the weather is bad, but how often do we do it?  When I read a recent article on a disabled couple  stranded in their house after a snow storm, not only was I reminded of how lucky we are to have thoughtful neighbors, but of the many years of living in apartment complexes that never shoveled the walkways wide enough for a wheelchair.  Sure, they would shovel just wide enough for an able-bodied person to walk through, but I would always have to make the path wider for Bill and other wheelchair users in the building.  There’s more snow in this week’s forecast; remember to take time to get yourself ready and check on your neighbors.

Front walkway cleared for a wheelchair user

Entry filed under: Accessibility. Tags: , , , .

It’s all about the lighting in Aging-in-Place design A product for home safety… would it bring you peace of mind?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ted Cristal  |  February 23, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    To start, allow me to point out that your internet site is fantastic. I love the theme that you have. It was very easy on the eyes. Appreciate your article too. Definitely subscribed to your feed to make sure I won’t be missing out on any updates. Excellent job! Toast to a productive business

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,029 other followers

Recently Tweeted:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Find posts on highlighted dates:

February 2010
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

