How would you manage your day-to-day without sight?

May 27, 2010 at 7:54 am 4 comments

This is exactly the question that Manny Vinea asked himself and the reason why he is planning to film a documentary about it.  Beyond Sight’ is his idea for a documentary where he will live for ten days without sight.

Manny Vinea, just like many other sighted individuals, says he is “hard-pressed to imagine what it is like to be blind.”  Working as an animation director and living and navigating New York City are sure to pose some major challenges on his journey.  However, tasks some may think as small or routine such as putting toothpaste on the toothbrush, pouring hot coffee into a cup, or even finding the headache reliever from the rest of the bottles in the medicine cabinet are sure to also require some thought, planning and modifications.

I certainly cannot relate to living life with blindness, but after an eye operation caused me to have minimal vision for the first few days after, and fluctuating vision with light sensitivity for the following three months, I gained a new-found respect for anyone living with a visual impairment and needing environmental modifications, especially with print.  I do hope this project gets funded, because as able-bodied people we frequently take for granted that our senses are functioning properly. 

Could you manage your daily routine with a visual impairment?   

How would you manage in your home?  In your community?

Entry filed under: Accessibility. Tags: , , , , , , .

Not your typical cup of Joe….Inspired by Aspire CoffeeWorks The importance of customer listening: GreatGrabz® responds with a stylish safety grab bar

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bbrasley  |  May 27, 2010 at 9:05 am

    I am currently living out my answer to your questions as my vision is deteriorating. I am not blind, but my vision is impaired. I find that I can manage in my home because everything is familiar and I have things organized so that I can complete my daily tasks. I am also okay once I reach my office at work. Other than that, when I go outside of my familiar zones, I have a lot more trouble. I don’t like to go for walks by myself because of the fear of falling or getting disoriented. I have given up reading printed material (which was my favorite activity) because it is too difficult. Luckily, there are always alternate ways to enjoy the things I love. I can enjoy reading through audio books and enlarged type on the computer.

    It will be interesting to see what Mr. Vinea discovers about himself and the world as he films his documentary. I have learned about my own ability to adapt and remain positive. I wish him luck with his project. Thanks for this post.

    Reply
  • 2. Manny Vinea  |  May 27, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    Thanks for the thoughts – I also went through eye surgery that left me with massively reduced vision for a few days; that was several years ago, but it definitely got me to thinking on this track.

    Since I started the process, I’ve been hearing from some amazing people with amazing stories. A team of visually impaired individuals that are planning a polar trek, for example. Everyone’s story is unique and so interesting!

    I invite everyone to contact me directly: evinea@inverseforge.com

    Reply
  • 3. Cecilia  |  May 27, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    Thank you for this interesting blog and thank you Manny for such a brave idea for a documentary ..
    Projects like these are what benefits society and aids us in not taking things for granted. I find your synopsis of the documentary compelling and felt I needed to donate to this project for an absolutely great cause.
    I hope more and more people realize that even $1 counts! Good luck on this endeavor!

    Reply
  • 4. Cecilia  |  May 27, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    By the way this is the site I used to help this project…http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/2024503075/beyond-sight-a-documentary-film

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,067 other followers

Recently Tweeted:

Find posts on highlighted dates:

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

